Police officers take speeding very seriously in California. Because many California highways are crowded or run through mountainous regions, officers strive to enforce the speed limit as quickly as possible. California county police and highway patrol are not shy about issuing speeding tickets for those who are caught driving over the speed limit.
The speed laws in California are covered by Vehicle Code 22350. This vehicle code states that â€œNo person shall drive a vehicle upon a highway at a speed greater than is reasonable or prudent having due regard for weather, visibility, the traffic on, and the surface and width of, the highway, and in no event at a speed which endangers the safety of persons or property.â€ This law has several aspects. First, you must obey the posted speed limit. In addition, the way the law is written, police officers can issue speeding tickets for drivers who are driving too fast for the current conditions. This includes the weather and the conditions of the road.
If you are caught speeding in the state of California, you will be issued two points on your license. These points may not seem like much, but if you get an additional citation for speeding or for another traffic violation within 12 months, two more within 24 months, or three more within 36 months, you will have to face a DMV hearing in regard to a possible license suspension.
In addition to the points you will receive for speeding tickets, you will be issued a fine of $146 for speeding 1-15 miles over the speed limit, $266 for 16-25 miles over the speed limit, and $380 for speeding 26 miles over the limit or more. These fines for speeding tickets may vary according to the county in which you were caught speeding.
If you have been cited for speeding and you do not believe that you are guilty, an experienced traffic lawyer can help. A lawyer can argue your case in front of a judge and get your fines and penalties reduced or even get the ticket dismissed.